Freecycling

Fighting for freerecyling

What goes around, comes around

I know this is a cheap phrase, but what really annoys me is that like a lot of proverbs it often has more than a sense of truth. Goings and comings around is the theme of Tim Oey’s latest blog posting. And he should know. He has been at the forefront about freecycling for years before my time. This puts Tim’s thoughts on a pedestal. Add to that the stance he took in fighting for the rights of the common person who just wanted to freecycle without let or hindrance and all I can say is Tim, you’re the man.

Also I have no doubt that Deron Beal is a big enough person to say sorry, publicly. Not sorry for the goals he went for, but sorry for the consequences of not getting it right. When I think of Deron I really want to think of him in the same breath as some other Internet greats.

The ultimate is that father of the Internet, Tim Berners-Lee. Of late the creator of Linux, Linus Torvald whose (not updated) home page has the title “The homepage of a WWW-illiterate”. I could glow on about people them them happily for hours. Fortunately rather more erudite people can say these things in a much more entertaining and illuminating way. And if you do not know about them and their like get reading now, and don’t come back until you have.

I will limit myself to my own small thanks to Tim Berners-Lee and Linus. I will also add thanks to Tim Oey, who cannot say anything due to legal restrictions. I would also like to hold, when the history is written, the creator of freecycling in the same breath as other Internet greats. Freecycling marries the reality of damningly poor landfill policy and a sense of loss of community with all the best that the Internet can offer: virtuality meets reality.

The crossroads are approaching.

July 11, 2007 - Posted by | freecycling, goa

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

