Freecycling

Fighting for freerecyling

Go on, I dare you to ask a question on OIDG!

“Subject: Placed on moderation
I have taken the precaution of placing you on moderation due to you repeating a message on OIDG that had been deleted. Note that if you are placed on moderation on one group you are placed on moderation on all Leadership groups that you are a member of.
Your Moderators”

This is what I call a distinct lack of free speech and is issued to any TFN moderator who asks any difficult question. There is no debate, no procedure for redress. Any further questioning by you of your moderation status places you clearly as a born troublemaker and your moderation status is merely extended.

Note also this is a clear admission that your lack of leadership moderation team goes round housecleaning and sanitising the OIDG records.

If anyone thinks this does not happen – just try it for yourself. Go on, I dare you!

July 24, 2007 - Posted by | freecycle, OIDG

7 Comments »

  1. I still haven’t been able to get approved on OIDG!!!! I have some questions I need to ASK!

    Comment by Just Me | July 24, 2007 | Reply

  2. When you are moderated in what is an organisational discussion group you are silenced. This makes a mockery of having an OIDG if you can’t discuss issues that might be topical without being gagged. I was moderated because I dared to present a petition calling for an international ModSquad for all mods of TFN…we were being forced to vote on a poll that would segregate every country and a lot of us wanted to maintain contact with our fellow mods. So we ended up forming our own international forum for TFN mods and as a result all the owners were ‘delisted’ and threatened by Deron et al…members are routinely spied upon and members risk being delisted if they post openly with their tfn id’s. It’s a sad indictment of TFN if mods can’t openly, and without censorship, come together to discuss TFN issues.

    Thats more than 2 cents worth, so with AU rounding it probably comes to zero…

    Lisa

    Comment by Lisa Mostyn | July 24, 2007 | Reply

  3. You might be more than moderated – you might be kicked out of the organization altogether, then be accused of all manner of dastardly things. That’s what happened to me. I used one of my e-mail addresses on my OWN domains to post a message on the OIDG, but because the Yahoo! Profile under which I was subscribed to the group was the one under which I did volunteer work, I was removed from association with Freecycle altogether. Beal then lied about WHY I was removed, slandering me on the modsquad and the OIDG.

    Of course, he and his flunkies wouldn’t permit me to subscribe to the OIDG under any other Yahoo! Profile, so by objecting to me posting under my “official” volunteer profile, he was effectively insisting that I not post at all.

    BTW – was anyone ELSE asked to not use the email address or profile they use on the ModSquad or elsewhere when posting to OIDG?

    Essentially, Beal couldn’t find any reason to get rid of me, because I was blameless – so he manufactured one. I was too consistently honest, privately and publicly, in my insistence that the organization be honorable in all its actions. That conflicted with his actions and his intentions. I haven’t regretted anything I said or did. I know that he can’t say the same – not honestly.

    Comment by Cynthia Armistead | July 27, 2007 | Reply

  4. Finder Is a Violation of Yahoo’s TOS and should be removed immediately. Please read email from Yahoo regarding this. Expect to see this posted on a public Yahoo forum shortly.

    ———- Forwarded message ———-
    From: Jami Heldt
    Date: Aug 3, 2007 1:24 PM
    Subject: RE: Freecycle.org
    To: freecyclebrevard@gmail.com
    Cc: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX@yahoo-inc.com

    I am the Community Manager for Yahoo! Groups.

    Yahoo! values our users and their content, and we put into place guidelines to protect our users’ content. The Yahoo! Groups guidelines prohibit the re-posting or re-transmitting of content that belong to another user without that user’s permission. We are in communication with Freecycle.org and have ensured that they will refrain from re-posting Yahoo! Groups content on their website. As always, if you see any violations of Yahoo! Group’s Terms of Service, please report them at: http://help.yahoo.com/l/us/yahoo/groups/abuse.html

    Please let me know if you have any questions.

    Sincerely,

    Jami

    Comment by Char Hess | August 3, 2007 | Reply

  5. While I believe in the concept, I do not believe in the politics involved. I was just THINKING of leaving Freecycle and my memberships to the OIDG and the IMOD were taken from me. And when I did leave, I had many new members with the address of …@freecycle.org and many like it spamming my group with un-needed garbage. Go back to the main reason this was started and leave the “spy” business to others.

    Comment by andrea | August 6, 2007 | Reply

  6. yup our co owner was moderated for creating “doubt and paranoia” when she asked if we were able to move back from the new site if we went with them…. then again the question was never answered,m they said it was possible, but they didnt say we would be allowed to, since going to the new site takes your ownership away, and gives them ALL YOUR MEMBERSHIP emails….
    what a goldmine for spammers….
    we jumped to reuseit lost all of 6 members out of over 5400, and have never been happier.

    Comment by jen z | August 9, 2007 | Reply

  7. Yeah, this threatening and silencing stuff happens to the membership, too. A cascade effect, I think.

    Nice to see the uneasy hold of the oligarchs is crumbling.

    Comment by brendadada | August 12, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

