Freecycling

Fighting for freerecyling

Allusion is such a wonderful word

Following recent debate on this blog, I am going to attempt to restrict myself to allusions. One allusion is that I might make, refers to insinuations that the critics of TFN are in it for profit, as someone at the very top of the powers that be might have said it back in July 28th, “by individuals wishing to increase their private gain by scaring local Freecycle moderators.”

So let me ask a straight question. Who stands to gain?

I mean my bank account is pretty well dry, so I would like to gain something. I know my way around the Internet. I could dedicate a section on my blog for GoogleAds and since the number of hits on this blog are quite healthy thereby generate a modest income. I have done that in the past for other websites. But I don’t do that for this blog – on principle. The principle being that this blog is for the good of freecyclers everywhere.

A second allusion might be that the same person would write in the same posting, “Every good urban legend and internet rumor will contain just enough truth to get the attention of the reader.” Note the misspelling of rumour is probably as would have been written. So let us look at urban legends. A great source for this is the online Urban Dictionary. If you search on this for the generic word freecycle, what do you find? Well that same person reiterating that they somehow created the word freecycle in 2003, whereas just a whole 3 years earlier, not months but years somehow a couple of websites with this name somehow existed, as commented on in this blog a few days ago. As far as I know, these domain names are nothing to do with TFN, Deron Beal, myself or any critic.
I mean, come on, are The Powers That Be in TFN really saying that the Internet databases held by such definitive resources as Icann are wholly corrupt? Next, perhaps The Powers That Be will be claiming that Microsoft’s name was created by them, oh when was it – just yesterday.

September 8, 2007 - Posted by | freecycle, trademark

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

