Freecycling

Fighting for freerecyling

I practice what I preach

I have, for this blog and elsewhere a complaints process. Anyone who wishes to take up debate intelligently can do so by freely posting comments on this blog. To date I have blocked I think just one comment, where the tone was just a load of flame with no meat on it to roast. In future I will make a local PDF copy of any that I block so that any independent audit can investigate and see that I am following through.

Also on the right people will see a “chat now”. I do not hide, unlike Deron who has suggested that my emails to him were spam and has told me not to contact him. Well, 3 well meant emails doesn’t seem like spam to me, but everything is in the eye of the beholder, and I respect that.

Also any right minded person who thinks that they may have been wrong for whatever reason, apologises and quickly. I have previously made on this blog a public apology to Richard Wallman the same day that he took offence at something I said in an email. I did that freely, it was not asked for. I just did it.

In a recent flame war (I feel that is an exaggeration but others may not) with someone I took the initiative and apologised. Again I did this freely in an attempt to calm the temperature, and right now they seem cool, so that’s good.

This blog takes a strong stance because it feels there is an injustice as play of global proportions. In taking that stance sometimes my emotion, like anyone’s may get the better of me. People, including Martin and Nick have been kind enough to pull me up by the socks pretty hard when they see that, and sometimes that has been done on this blog.

In the end I am human, somewhat like everyone else. I make mistakes and allow a right of reply, a complaints process.
I just hope that, for TFN’s sake, there is a wake up call and they realise that a mixture of hide behind defence barricades and firing canon balls is no defence at all in a 21st century on-line movement.

October 10, 2007 - Posted by | freecycle

1 Comment »

  1. Oooh, fame at last!

    😉

    Comment by Martin Pike | October 11, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

